Blog Response ~ Revisiting The Wiccan Rumors – YouTube

This morning, I saw a video on You Tube from a woman I’ve come to greatly admire. In this video, she’s obviously upset about the subject, and after watching the video, I can understand why.

You can find the video here. Go watch it. I’ll wait…

I have to admit, this video got me wound up. If you read the comments, you’ll see mine on there, but I felt I had more to say on the subject.

What makes a Witch a Witch

To me, a Witch is a person who practices Witchcraft. It’s that simple.

I looked it up and nowhere, in any of the definitions, did it say that a Witch can only be a member of a Coven.

Do you have to be in a Coven to be Wiccan?

I looked that up, too. The only way I can see you “having” to be in a Coven is if you follow a Traditional path (like Gardinian). Being “Wiccan” does not require a Coven, only a belief in what Wiccans adhere to.

Wicca is one of the origins of the word Witch, but, being Wiccan doesn’t necessarily make you a Witch, just as not all Witches are Wiccan. It is solely the practice of Witchcraft that makes someone a Witch.

I have to say, it irritates me the way people run around trying to make themselves look good by trying to make others look bad.

Honestly, at the end of the day, who cares what someone calls themselves? How does what you call yourself effect my path? The short answer is that it doesn’t.

I understand that the Pagan community is trying to reclaim their roots and their terminology. Some are trying to present a clear picture of paganism and witchcraft to the rest of the world to help non-Pagans understand who and what we are. I’m all for that, but not at the expense of in-fighting in our community and certainly not by trying to belittle others to make your path “right”. That has a distinctly Christian flavor to it, in my opinion, and it’s one of the reasons I’m not Christian anymore.

If it were true that you could only be a Witch or a Wiccan via Coven associations, where would that leave people like me who are trapped in places where paganism is still often associated with devil-worshipping and there are very few Covens? What if I’m Wiccan and the only Coven near me isn’t a Wiccan Coven?

Where I live, there are no Covens close by. If I wanted to be Pagan at all, especially 20 years ago when I started practicing, I had no choice but to be solitary. It was that or nothing.

Now, I choose to make my community online. It doesn’t work for everyone, but for an old Witch like me, it’s all I know. I wouldn’t know what to do with a Coven if one moved in next door to me. I’m set in my ways with my practice in a lot of ways, and my way works for me, so who am I hurting?

Besides that, if you really get involved online, you will see that even what a Coven is, is changing.

Anyone else run into the online Covens yet? I know I have.

These Covens are catering to eclectic solitary practitioners. Those who can’t, or choose not to, be in a physical Coven. They (at least the ones I’ve seen so far) aren’t teaching a particular path. The members all contribute from their own paths. Rituals posted are outlines that leave you the room to modify it, in most cases, to fit whatever your particular path might be.

Pay attention, boys and girls, these Covens have a lot of members and may very well be the future.

I believe that whoever said the things that Brenda referred to, are a minority in the Pagan community who are simply trying to play the “I’m better than you” game. They think that being in a Coven makes them “real”. There’s nothing wrong with Covens if that’s what you’re in to, but don’t assume that because you are in a Coven, that you’re better than others.

Can’t we all just get along?

Blessings,
WW

8 Comments

  1. In the 40 years I’ve been walking the Wiccan path, it has always made me shake my head in disbelieft that in-fighting would go on amongst those who claim to be Wiccan. The truth is, we are all still human and part of our lessons here on Planet Earth are to lean to live from our higher selves and not our egos. We are a “work-in-progress”. That doesn’t make it right. It just offers and explanation of why it continues to go on. Sad, but true. ❤

    Like

I love to hear from my readers! Please comment with your thoughts and opionions below!

